The journey begins… Week 1

Monday

So Monday 22nd August was the first day of the Tri-Fit programme – the introductory workshop. We all gathered at the Westlake Cycle lab and proceeded to have the bejeesus scared out of us by a team of fit, skinny, enthusiastic elite athletes, some of whom had a distinctly evangelical glint in their eyes (hopefully I wasn’t misreading what was in fact sadistic!). The programme was explained, and the overwhelming array of necessary and recommended equipment was detailed. I had sort of thought that a sprint distance triathlon was a bit of a cop-out, a distance that you could pretty much bluff your way through on some basic fitness, but it seems as though I was mistaken! We are apparently going to be trained, tried and tested, and put through our paces as though we are aspiring to actually compete rather than just participate/complete. Gulp. Luckily some of the others seemed as nervous as I was feeling after the briefing, except for those who have done the programme before! I’m now very anxious about the 5 km time trial to come on Wednesday (especially since my knee is still crockety after last weekend’s Montagu 10 km run), and will just have to swallow anti-inflammatories and hope for the best. Sub-35 mins required…

About wifemomtriathlete

I'm a wife, a mother to a busy 19 month old toddler, a marine biologist. I work full-time for an environmental NGO and present documentaries on the side. I've decided to do a sprint distance triathlon, and signed up for the Sport Science Institute of South Africa's TRI-Fit programme. Am I mad? You decide...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment