Race results

The race stats

And my splits were:

600m swim – 11 minutes 27 seconds

20 km bike – 48 minutes 30 seconds

5 km run – 28 minutes 11 seconds

Total time – 1 hour 28 minutes 09 seconds

Position: 8/58 for age group (30-39 Female)

25th woman across the line (out of I think 136 women – all ages)

Lesson 1. Spending so much time away from my family is hard on me and on them – and I can’t wait to spend a little more with them now that there won’t be (quite) so much training

Lesson 2. Based on my race times, and those of everyone around me – my cycling is better than I thought and my running is worse!!

Lesson 3. Do more brick sessions. Lots more!

Lesson 4. Start training as soon as possible for the XTerra in February 2012… because yes, I’m hooked, and already planning on entering my next one 🙂

Lesson 5. Listen to the SSISA coaches because they know what they’re talking about – and they walk the talk too, both training next to us and racing along with us (although in the case of Lezandre and Richard, they actually won – unlike us :))!

Thanks to Kim, Kasha, Lezandre, Sharon, Richard, Ben and Greg for the last 12 weeks of encouragement, information, coaching, and the occasional burst of slave-driving!! It’s been a wonderful and exhausting 12 weeks.

Most of all – thank you so much to my wonderful family for putting up with my absences, being supportive, picking up all the slack, and allowing me to indulge in exercise luxury 🙂

About wifemomtriathlete

I'm a wife, a mother to a busy 19 month old toddler, a marine biologist. I work full-time for an environmental NGO and present documentaries on the side. I've decided to do a sprint distance triathlon, and signed up for the Sport Science Institute of South Africa's TRI-Fit programme. Am I mad? You decide...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment